Party Monster (2003) [THE UNWATCHABLES]

by robinhardwick

The Unwatchables

partymonster1

Before we get into the movie, there are some things about me prior to seeing this movie:

1.I had already read Disco Bloodbath by James St. James the “memoir” on which it is based.

2. I am and have always been fascinated by Michael Alig and the late eighties club scene

3. I enjoy Macauley Culkin as an adult actor.

Already, I’m the target audience for this movie. However, how many potential audience fit these criteria? Not many. It’s almost like viewers needed to fulfill the above prerequisites before they could even begin to appreciate it. This isn’t a film that explains New York Club kid culture or even celebrates it; it’s a film that takes place within the culture. I’m not arguing that the film should have educated its audience about the brief era in the late eighties when this subculture emerged, but the great hallmarks of the subculture…

View original post 823 more words

