Season 1, Episode 14: “That Was No Lady”, as reviewed by me as a Teaching Assistant for Women Studies 101

by robinhardwick

The Golden Girls Reviewed By

Me [sitting backwards on a desk, my feet resting on the desktop]:

Okay class, I hope everyone did their reading for this week. Today, we are going to talk about how each of the Golden Girls represents an era of feminism. Because I am a cool TA, I am going to use ironically hip pop culture references. I promise you, in ten years, watching The Golden Girls is going to be something you mention to people to seem interesting.

Let’s start with Blanche. You may think that all her sleeping around makes her a trashy woman, but in fact, she is using her sexuality to empower herself, just like the third wave of feminism. You know, like Le Tigre and the sex worker’s movement. Look it up. Blanche is proud of her sexuality, and in fact, we learn that she has vanity plates that say “available,” when she tries…

View original post 541 more words

