Consumption Junction

by robinhardwick

I read this short ebook and was pleasantly surprised about the more realistic view of gaining confidence and knowing yourself. I was hesitant at first because Thought Catalog is not known for being the intellectual center of the internet, but it’s worth a read (for all genders).

I’m about halfway through Top of the Lake on Netflix. It keeps me watching, but it’s not quite god’s gift to television as some have proclaimed. The New Zealand setting is gorgeous, and the acting is good and all, but it seems to be dark for dark’s sake. The most intriguing thing is this commune of women who live in shipping containers under the rule of guru Holly Hunter. Not a bad idea.

I only made it two episodes into the Ricky Gervais show Derek. In it he goes full retard, which makes me uncomfortable. The show is also…somehow manipulative. It’s actually pretty positive and not snarky like most modern comedy, which is commendable, but I like when characters are provided to us, flaws and all, and we can make the decisions about them being “good” people or not, where here is is shoved down our throat every second. Karl Pilkington is surprisingly good as an actor, which is white a contrast to his persona on The Ricky Gervais podcast.

Doc watching: I watched Evocateur, about Morton Downey Jr. Write up to come. I also love finding out about short documentaries on youtube, and this week I watched the ones below, including one about people waiting in line for iphones, street hustlers, and finally about the Neo-Futurists, a beloved theater company who have just started a San Francisco arm.

