Revisiting Inside Amy Schumer

by robinhardwick

The Unwatchables

behind_amy_schumer_104

One of the most viewed entries on this blog is my initial thoughts on the sketch show  Inside Amy Schumer. When I wrote that post, I had only watched three episodes, which I know was not that many, really. I was willing to give it another chance. The rest of the season aired in April, and Comedy Central announced it was renewed for the second season. People were watching…and enjoying. I am not one of those people.

As I mentioned in the previous review, Amy Schumer has no obligation to be a feminist, create feminist comedy, or for that matter, even create comedy for women. However, it is disturbing that she still seems to want to create comedy for men that adhere to gender stereotypes. There’s self-deprecating humor, but that can be cathartic and reveal things about the self, in the way that Louis CK does so…

View original post 569 more words

