Consumption Junction

by robinhardwick

Blue Jasmine was the movie I chose to go to this weekend, and a good choice indeed. Cate Blanchett was wonderful, and it was both an intense character study and family drama. Interesting to see him film in San Francisco, but it did not feel like the SF I know- it was amazing that the characters were able to afford living there, for one. And why did Peter Sarsgaard become so creepy? My movie companion and I were very divided on how we felt about the character of Jasmine- he thinking she was the most terrible kind of human being, and me feeling sympathy for her. Not to mention the dark and upsetting ending, dark even for a Woody Allen film.

I’m late on this, but despite an initial hatred for the premise of the show and a weak pilot, I have grown to love the twenty-three episodes of Don’t Trust the B– in Apartment 23 that are currently on Netflix. And Krysten Ritter is so stunning I could watch her for hours.

The third season of The Most Popular Girls in School premiered this week. MPGiS is a hilarious and brilliant webseries that uses dolls in stop motion animation. Think about a movie like Mean Girls where the mean girls always win, and their horribleness is celebrated. I strongly urge you to watch all of these from the first episode, which is very doable, and each episode is only about six minutes long.

