Music Video Monday: Genesis

by robinhardwick

Genesis, “Land of Confusion”

It’s hard to believe that this nightmare of a video came from the same album that gave us “Invisible Touch.” Seeing this at eight years old gave me nightmares. The puppets, designed by the people behind the UK satire show Spitting Image, are genius and terrifying. I can barely refrain from hiding my eyes from the atrocity at the 4:35 mark.

Not to mention that the song itself is incredibly dark and describes the fucked up state of the world, something Genesis was not exactly known for. When I first read The Hunger Games, before any of the film production started, I had the idea that the soundtrack would consist of cover songs, this being one of them. Oh, heck, even keep the original in there.  It seems perfect for a story of a dystopian world on the verge of class warfare and has a sense of urgency.

The only band to cover the song is Disturbed, and although it is was a noble effort, it sounds too bro-rock to me.

And, just because, here’s Patrick Bateman talking about Phil Collins.

 

