Working At Amazon is Apparently Terrible; Quelle Suprise

by robinhardwick

Sometimes I experience Schadenfreude hearing about the terrible experiences someone has working at what others would assume to be a “dream” place to work. It serves as confirmation bias to my notion that there are no such things as dream jobs, and every paying position is an inescapable hell hole. So imagine my chagrin when Gawker started posting thruthicles about working at Amazon this week.

It is difficult to get a job at Amazon. Really hard.  But it is much harder to want to stay. I sensed it when I came on, and I’ve learned since then that my hunch was right. Isn’t the job of management to motivate people from every background to believe in one objective and then reward them for driving at it? It is not the job of management here, I can assure you. Their job is to demean and threaten. And that comes from the top.

Ouch. This sounds like the deeply ingrained problem of engagement and management skill. Not something you can just brush away or try to fix yourself, because it’s a monolith of fuckery that is not worth devoting your time to.

But there’s got to be some good experiences, right? I am sure there are. I am also sure there are people at your job who have inexplicably been there more than two decades who are content with what they have. It is my belief that people who are deliriously happy with their jobs don’t stay at it long.  They are given too much hope in the idea of working they get excited and motivated and go beyond to better things. Leaving most people behind who are the thirty-plus year mediocre people who are so resistant to change, who freak out about looking at a shared google document.  The people that leave the most are the most talented and the most engaged, leaving behind this muddle of mediocrity, which may even be worse than terrible.

In the meantime, I’ll still read articles like the one above and hum:

 

