Listen all y’all it’s a sabotage

by robinhardwick

Do any of you experience a situation where someone, perhaps you work with, tries to sabotage you, only to fail miserably and have it backfire? It’s the most exhilarating feeling in the world. Almost makes me throw my head back and cackle like a cartoon villain. It almost always involves a CC to a higher up, or even worse….the dreaded B C C! They think they are exposing me in some unsavory plot, where in fact I am trying to make the end product better or thinking strategically.

What they are completely unaware of…the supervisor DOES NOT CURRR about these little disagreements. In fact, they look worse for the fact that they are bringing them up. It makes them look bad, look high-maintenance, inflexible. People fuck up and do shitty things all the time, and believe me I have the urge to, for lack of a better word, “tattle” on them. I get it. I value accountability. I don’t understand people who don’t have an intrinsic motivation to achieve a goal or complete something to the best of their ability. But I dig my fingernails into my palms and don’t let me supervisor get involved.

I’m not one to give career advice, but I am sure of one thing that is required for success: make your supervisor think you are low-maintenance. Do good work, and let it speak for itself. Guess who they are more willing to promote, work with, let work from home, work on new projects- the person who doesn’t complain*. Don’t bring every problem to them. Figure it out yourself. That makes the other person who does complain seem less enjoyable to work with. It shouldn’t be so, but a complainer can completely cancel out any good work they do because people literally would rather not deal with them.

The moral of the story is, don’t try to fuck with me because it will always bite you in the ass.

