Consumption Junction: Stop Making Sense

by robinhardwick

Scott Meslow in The Week writes:

There’s always value in thinking about movies, but attempting to explain them can sand over what made them so interesting in the first place and rob them of a different kind of power. Some movies don’t need to be deciphered; they need to be experienced.

which applied to the two films I watched over this weekend, the first being Enemy, which I can see why so many people wouldn’t enjoy, it was like watching the world through a sepia, slow filter. I WANT to put the pieces together, and the breadcrumbs are there, but I’d rather just use my imagination for different interpretations.

Enemy-2013-Movie-Poster

The director, Dennis Villeneuve also directed Jake Gyllenhaal in Prisoners, an underrated dark mystery, that does, in fact tie everything together in the end.

oneiloveffff

 

I-make-any-movie-I-feel-like Mark Duplass stars in The One I Love, another film with a “what just happened?” ending, that is less like a full developed movie than an episode of The Twilight Zone. The theories are running rampant on this one too.

 

 

 

