Consumption Junction: Moebius, BoJack Horseman, An Untamed State

by robinhardwick

fullsizephoto359435

Korean filmmakers have issues. Maybe I am generalizing and the only Korean films I watch are the disturbing ones (how can you forget the hijinks of I Saw The Devil?). When I heard about Moebius on The Daily Beast, I had to watch it. I was thinking, is this the next Serbian Film? Alas, it is not. For a horribly violent and disturbing film, there’s little graphic matter. Did I want there to be? Perhaps. If you are going to go as far as it does, don’t get shy with special effects.

I’m still contemplating its merits and my subjective opinion on it. There are some triumphs in filmmaking, including one actress portraying two very opposite roles, and the whole film has no dialogue, which makes for an interesting viewing experience.

bojack-horseman-tv-review

Bojack Horseman is a new Netflix-original series, and the first episode didn’t grab me, and I thought, oh great, another show about Hollywood actors, but it could really be about anything. It is a great character-driven show with many similarities to the (original) Arrested Development; there are quick cutbacks, recurring jokes and flawed but loveable characters. Despite its main character being a horse, it’s very grounded and at times touching. I also love how random characters are animals and some are humans, but that is the norm for this world.

pss_Roxane-Gay_An-Untamed-State_FB

Finally, after much hype, I read Roxane Gay’s An Untamed State. I love Roxanne Gay’s essays and blog posts, and this book had a lot of hype. Not to spoil anything, but the plot of the novel revolves around a Haitian-American woman who returns to Haiti to visit her wealthy family and is then kidnapped, brutally tortured and raped, and after she is released, deals with a serious case of PTSD. As you know, I am not opposed to disturbing content (see: above) and there is a very good reason to include it in storytelling. Yes, this book is about this woman’s traumatic experience and the author obviously wants the reader to experience it with her, but having nearly a third of the book describing brutal gang rapes and genital mutilation seemed exploitative. I didn’t love the book, it felt very unfinished. The main character was also depicted as “firery” and “passionate”, which resulted in her easily getting into arguments with her husband. This was more aggravating to me than admirable.

