More adventures in failure

by robinhardwick

LOVE WHAT YOU DO, TOLERATE YOUR WORK

I’d believed that resigning at 42 was the acknowledgment of unrealized potential. Now I thought it was the delusional move of a man child who’d missed out on the party.

Salon published this narrative from someone fed up with their “respectable” job and quit without a net. Sure, he had good experience, but breaking into a new field is damn near impossible. Which is why I have felt better about staying in my job for almost eight years now. It’s enabled me to move to California, write, produce sketch, not to mention buy me a condo and a new car. I can’t fault it. And I’ll never leave it except if someone equally as stable comes along that I can at least tolerate.

Fuck “follow your dreams!” and “take a chance on yourself!”. It’s overrated.

