I’m a hit at parties

by robinhardwick

Here is an interview I did for the internal newsletter that goes out to everyone who writes on the EW Community blog.

What was the first TV show you were obsessed with and why?

I was entering junior high when Beverly Hills 90210 premiered, so I was a goner from the premiere. I cut my bangs like Brenda. I longed for a twin brother. I thought that was like high school was like (spoiler alert: it wasn’t). Unfortunately, the show does not hold up. Rewatching it was a cringe-fest. There was an episode where they stopped a gang fight with an urban school by holding a dance. Brenda does stand-up comedy. Brandon dates a teen mom. The outfits are hideous. It’s so terrible but so 90s.

If you could be one TV character, who would it be and why?

I would be Amy Jellicoe from the canceled-too-soon Enlightened (played by the exquisite Laura Dern). She made a lot of mistakes in her life, but she turned her life around and really became fearless in telling others what she thought and doing what she thought was right. She rubbed a lot of people the wrong way, but sometimes brilliance is misunderstood.

Tell us one thing that makes you unique.

I have a lot of knowledge about true crime and serial killers. So, I’m a real hit at parties.

