The Wrath of Internet Comments

by robinhardwick

Vanderpump Rules  recap  What happens in San Diego doesn4 t stay there   EW Community   EW.com

I’m pleased that my Vanderpump Rules recaps on the  Entertainment Weekly Community blog are getting a lot of web traffic. However, with that, comes internet comments. In an ideal world, it would spark discussion and validate my recaps, perhaps adding more to the discussion. However, with something on a site as widely seen as EW, you get comments like this:

Vanderpump Rules2  recap  What happens in San Diego doesn t stay there   EW Community   EW.com

Calm down, I’m not crusading against free speech. But to devote an account to a character’s back fat and saying they have AIDS is disgusting. And something I wrote solicited that- sure, it’s not my fault directly, but I still feel gross about it. I’m pretty sure EW doesn’t delete comments, but I’m irked by it. In my recaps, I am not exactly complimentary to the people on the show, but I am reacting to their behaviors exhibited on the show. I assume that is why others watch the show? It’s to watch people act ridiculously.

Vanderpump Rules  recap  What happens in San Diego doesn t stay there   EW Community   EW.com

Alas, I don’t control the internet. I won’t delete the comments, but I’m certainly not engaging. And I apologize to Scheana and Jax. You do put yourself out there for criticism, but no one deserves that.

