Music Video Monday: Beck

by robinhardwick

Beck   Lost Cause   YouTube

How many of you thought that Beck would be a forgettable one-hit wonder with “Loser”? I saw him at Lollapalooza ’96 and people booed him offstage. Cut to 15 years later and he’s about two albums away from scoring David Fincher films like Trent Reznor. Or, he ends up writing one of the most beautiful, depressing songs ever, “Lost Cause.” As in the lyric “I’m tired of fighting for a lost cause.” The rest of the lyrics are even more hopeless.

The song brings me down enough, but the video is more disturbing because I don’t know what the hell I am looking at. I don’t know what this thing is, it is not something that exists in real life. The only way I can describe it is a pinata-esque object with Beck’s face that was dropped from a plane, and its various limbs explode and inflate on command. it finally hits the ground, exploding. Or falling into hot lava? Who knows. Apparently it was made entirely in photoshop. And it is the stuff of my nightmares.

Beck   Lost C2ause   YouTube Beck   Lost Cause   Yo2uTube

The brilliance of it is that the song puts you into a dream-like state, so you don’t lose patience watching this thing…just explode in different ways.

Beck   Lost2 Cause   YouTube

