I love when writers get bitchy

by robinhardwick

This piece in The Stranger is sure to get some feathers riled up. I have a love/hate relationship with getting an MFA. I wistfully hope that one day I can do it, but I also know that it would probably make me suicidal.

This former teacher lays down some real truths like:

For the most part, MFA students who choose to write memoirs are narcissists using the genre as therapy. They want someone to feel sorry for them, and they believe that the supposed candor of their reflective essay excuses its technical faults. Just because you were abused as a child does not make your inability to stick with the same verb tense for more than two sentences any more bearable. In fact, having to slog through 500 pages of your error-riddled student memoir makes me wish you had suffered more.

I appreciate someone that has a strong conviction like this, knowing that it is just an opinion, but being so bold to state it as truth.

I still believe you can call yourself a writer if you write—anything. There are so many people in the world who don’t have the balls to put something on paper and have others read it that even any effort should be called writing.

